Make-up in my wardrobe

Make-up is becoming a fashion accessory.

I’ve been noticing this a lot recently.

It’s all part of the outfit.

If you’re going for a 60s inspired look, you spruce it up with some red lippy (and a fake beauty spot – aka mole). If you opt for a more androgynous fashion, the make-up tends to be more laid back. Yet, if you choose to channel a pretty feminine number then it’s all about making your face look innocent and angelic.

Make-up is all part of the act…it’s part of the persona we put on when we dress up as something.

Fine, it’s also used for covering spots, accentuating your eyelashes bla bla bla – BUT (you guys know there’s always a big but with me!) it’s also a big necessity when it comes to completing your outfit.

I’m pretty crappy when it comes to applying make-up. I have absolutely no idea how to put on eyeshadow, nor do I even own blusher and sometimes it really annoys me. I wish I knew how to make myself look glam but I don’t (any make-up artists out there feel free to give me lessons!) Do I feel this has an effect on my end result? Yes. I do. To me, my outfits never look finished simply because I lack the knowledge on how to apply powders to my face.

ImageImage

I mean, think about it. If make-up wasn’t part of fashion then why would designers ensure ALL their models have their faces embellished? What would be the point?

So that’s my rant for the evening.

Make-up is considered to be part of the beauty industry but it’s just as important when it comes to styles, trends and fashion.

And on that note I’m going to watch some tutorials…

Leave a Reply

