Monochrome vs. gothic

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.32.41

Last week I gave myself the challenge of styling and directing my very own shoot. Setting myself the challenge of exploring the gothic world, I took to Topman and River Island to get buying.

Why gothic? Well, it’s something that has always interested me. It fascinates me how gothic architecture consists of straight lines and dark shadows yet the gothic subculture encompasses the rock era – an awesomely cool time for the fashion industry.

And, what’s the aim of this shoot, I hear you whisper (there’s something secretive about a whisper, eh)? My aim is to get my fabulous viewers to be intrigued by my gorgeous model – I want to bring across mystery with a sprinkle of seduction.

I thought I’d mix gothic with monochrome, adding some high fashion to the solemn ambience I knew my snaps would give.

So, off I went with my debit card (unfortunately), grabbing anything that shouted out ‘SEXY GOTH’.

I picked out a polka-dot shirt, which I layered with a black mesh jumper and a fitted white leather jacket. I then got some daringly low hareem pants, which I matched with chunky boots.

Obviously, accessories were key to me. I needed something to make the outfit less banal. So, off I went to get chains and a fedora (I’m a huge hat fan).

Hours later, this is what I came up with…

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.36.51

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.30.40

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.33.40

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.38.37

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.30.50

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.41.48

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 17.35.21

Outfit list:

Shirt: River Island

Jumper: River Island

Jacket: Topman

Trousers: Zara

Shoes: Oxfam

Hat: Zara

Necklace: ASOS

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | I Love Fashion Bloggers | Fashionlista

Leave a Reply

